Demerit Point Reduction Options

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Please note, the options below are not available to persons with a Commercial Driver’s License. The practice of reducing charges, altering speeds, or allowing CDL drivers to attend traffic safety school is specifically prohibited by 49 CFR Part 384.226.

Demerit Point Reduction Fee

The Demerit Point Reduction fee (“DPR fee”) is only valid for moving violations of 4 points or less. To determine the point value of your moving violation, please visit the Nevada DMV website.

You must request the DPR fee and enter your plea of guilty or no contest on or before the court date listed on your citation. The $60 fee is in addition to the citation fine amount. If you pay the fine and DPR fee by the due date, your moving violation will be amended to a parking violation and will not be reported to DMV. Failure to pay the fine and DPR fee by the due date will result in the original violation conviction being reported to DMV.

You may request the DPR fee option on or before your court date by:

  • Submitting the online DPR Fee Request Form
  • Appearing at the Customer Service windows at 243 Water Street, 3rd floor
  • Requesting this option from the judge on your scheduled court date

Traffic Safety School

Traffic Safety School is only valid for moving violations of 4 points or less. To determine the point value of your moving violation, please visit the Nevada DMV website.

You may attend Level 1 Traffic Safety School if you have not attended Traffic Safety School in the last 12 months. You may attend Level 2 Repeat Offender’s Traffic Safety School if you have already attended Traffic Safety School once before in the last 12 months.

You must request Traffic Safety School and enter your plea of guilty or no contest on or before the court date listed on your citation and before you attend the class. Traffic Safety School does not reduce the fine amount. However, if you pay the fine and complete Traffic Safety School by the due date, your moving violation will be amended to a parking violation and will not be reported to DMV.

There is a fee for Traffic Safety School which varies depending on the company you choose. A complete list of approved schools is available on the Nevada DMV website. This fee is in addition to your citation fine amount.

You will be given a completion due date and a Traffic Safety School information sheet when you enter a plea. Failure to complete Traffic Safety School by the completion due date will result in the original violation conviction being reported to DMV.

You may make your request for Traffic Safety School on or before your court date by:

  • Visiting our online payments page and clicking “PAY TRAFFIC CITATION”
  • Appearing at the Customer Service windows at 243 Water Street, 3rd floor
  • Requesting this option from the judge on your scheduled court date

After you have entered your plea, please download the Information Sheet for Moving Violations for information on how to complete Traffic Safety School.

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Download Acrobat Reader Windows Media Player Download Windows Media Player Word Viewer Download Word Viewer Excel Viewer Download Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer